Review: Bodyline Haul

Hello, readers,

Back at the beginning of November, when Bodyline had a sale for 1000 yen off all shoes, I made a pretty large order (for me, anyway). I ordered two blouses (L474 in black and offwhite), two JSKs (L348 in blaxkxoffwhite and L489 in black), a pair of wristcuffs (ACC1234 in black), and a pair of rocking horse shoes (SHOES194 in black). I’ve purchased both Bodyline and brand clothes before, both new and second hand, so I hope someone finds the information in this review helpful. Now, on to the review!

* * *

Air Mail Shipping

I placed my order on Saturday, November 1 and chose air mail. I got an e-mail with the tracking information on Saturday, November 8. My order was shipped in two separate packages, Package 1 with the wristcuffs, shoes and the first dress, and Package 2 with the second dress and the two blouses. The two packages actually shipped together, which is awesome, and they arrived in the US on November 23/24. They were both delivered to my door on November 28.

IMG_1071

Package 1 and Package 2

IMG_1072

Package 1, small tear

IMG_1073

Package 1, very large tear

Here are the contents of Package 1. I was very happy to see that the wristcuffs hadn’t escaped out of the large tear.

Package 1

Package 1

Messed up shoebox from Package 1

Messed up shoebox from Package 1

Smaller tear in shoebox from Package 1

Smaller tear in shoebox from Package 1

IMG_1083

Small tear in packaging, but I doubt that this is from shipping

Package 2 arrived in much better condition.

Package 2, very small tear

Package 2, very small tear

Package 2

Package 2

Even though the packages were ripped and the shoe box was destroyed, none of my items were damaged, except for possibly a scuff mark on one of my shoes. (I’ll talk more about that later.) I feel pretty lucky.

Overall, this was very similar to all my other experiences with using air mail. The outer packaging was beaten up more this time compared to previously, but everything turned out fine. Air mail always takes at least a month and the outer packaging will probably be torn at some point, but the shipping is cheap/free. For me, because I’ve never actually had something bad happen to my items, it’s worth it.

* * *

Items

Note: All of the colors that are supposed to be black really are black. My camera did weird things to the colors in some of these pictures. Also, where possible I tried to wear all red to show off the items in my worn pictures. The worn blouse pictures are a bit awkward because I don’t have a red skirt. I also refuse to let velcro anywhere near a pair of tights, so I’m not wearing red socks in the shoe pictures. My apologies for inconsistencies/awkwardness.

Accessories

ACC1234 – black

These are wristcuffs. Huzzah! I have wanted a pair of black wristcuffs for a long time, but I haven’t liked most I’ve seen being sold by other lolitas on etsy and so forth, and I didn’t want to spend the money on brand ones. I tried ordering a pair from Taobao, and I got only one wristcuff instead of a pair. Ah, the joys of language barriers and misunderstandings. Anyway, these have been a long time coming, and I’m very glad that they didn’t escape the package somehow during the shipping process.

IMG_1084

Grosgrain ribbon bow (Sorry about the blurry photo!)

IMG_1085

Elastic channel

IMG_1086

The main part of the wristcuff is actually two layers of lace. I hadn’t expected that, but it’s a nice surprise. (More blurriness!)

Here are some worn pictures.

Worn

Worn

Shoes

SHOES194 – black

Based on everything I read everywhere about ordering Bodyline’s RHS, I ordered half a size up from what I normally get. Luckily, I’ve ordered Bodyline shoes before, and all of them are size 225, so I was able to order a size 230 without remeasuring my foot.  I’m pleased to say that the shoes do fit me. I’m not sure exactly how small they run overall, though, because I feel like I needed this bigger size to accommodate the length of my foot, as well as the width.

IMG_1078

This is how they came in the box. Unfortunately, now it’s time to show the damages/weird things.

IMG_1089

The straps came like this. It looked dirty, but that might just be cardboard dust from the shoebox.

IMG_1079

Small scuff

IMG_1080

This is super annoying. The grey pleather is showing on one of the shoes. It’s on the inside, but it’s still not something I’m happy about, considering these are brand new shoes. I hope a sharpie fixes things without being noticeable.

IMG_1081

Scuff on the foam platform

IMG_1094

There’s a weird, dark haze on the inside of both the shoes near the curve on the bottom of the platform.

IMG_1091

Here’s the same haze on the other shoe, with a bonus fuzzy.

IMG_1092

There’s a circular notch/patch on the inside of one of the shoes.

IMG_1090

Zoomed out, haze and patch.

I’m annoyed that these shoes had so many surface problems right out of the box, especially because all the other shoes I’ve ever ordered from Bodyline have been perfect. I haven’t tried to remove the weird haziness, but all the problem areas are in places that aren’t noticeable when worn. Speaking of worn shoes, let’s move on to some worn pictures, eh?

IMG_1095

IMG_1097

IMG_1100

The rubber sole of these shoes came dirtied.

IMG_1102

So blurry! Sorry!

IMG_1103

Straps down!

IMG_1104

Floppy straps.

Like I was expecting, the straps absolutely do not stay up. They are nowhere near long enough to wrap around the leg near the knee, which is what you’d need to keep these things up. They wrap around the chubby part of the calf, so they fell down almost as soon as I took a couple of steps. I’m planning on removing the pleather straps, making a loop on the back of the shoe, and threading a long ribbon through it that will actually wrap around my leg. I’ll put a little mini-tutorial up about that whenever I get around to modifying these shoes.

IMG_1109

I attempted to wrap the straps around my ankles, but I don’t think they look particularly nice.

These are super easy to walk in. (I’ll admit, I haven’t tried going up and down stairs in these yet.) The notch in the back just makes it so I can walk how I normally do instead of having to do marching/stomping steps like I need to do in most platforms. These are pretty comfortable, as well.

The foam platforms seem very sturdy, and I’ve never heard of anyone having a problem with the construction of these shoes. I’m going to try and be very careful not to scratch the platforms. Surface problems aside, these are fabulous and I’m very happy to have RHS now.

Dresses

L348 – blackxoffwhite

Here are some detail shots.

Grosgrain ribbon bows

Grosgrain ribbon bows

IMG_1114

Beading lace, satin ribbon

Double lace down front of bodice

Double lace down front of bodice, grosgrain ribbon

Ugh. The lacing is threaded through lace. This is terrible dress design. You can’t tighten the ribbon lacing without tugging on the decorative, delicate lace and risking damaging it. It’s a real shame, because I like this lace and the dress in general.

Lace on top of bodice

Lace on top of bodice

Elasticated straps, lace, and an example of some of the loose threads

Elasticated straps, lace, and an example of some of the loose threads

There were loose threads like these all over this dress. I don’t think it’s a big deal because I can easily fix that with scissors, but it’s important to note that this is a very common issue with Bodyline.

Lace down back of bodice

Lace down back of bodice, grosgrain ribbon

Yep, the ribbon is threaded through lace on the back, too. There are a few saving graces to this horrible design decision. Firstly, you can make the lacing super loose before you put it on the first time and then gently pull it so it’s not loose when you’re wearing it. You don’t have to do that afterwards, because this dress has a side zipper. Secondly, there are waist ties, so you can pull it closer around your waist without needing the lacing ribbon to do its job.

Lace on ruffles

Lace on ruffles

Inside edge of ruffle lace

Inside edge of ruffle lace

Ruffle construction

Ruffle construction

Side zipper

Side zipper

Waist tie

Super cute waist tie

Inside

Inside

Big ol' bow

Big ol’ bow

The bow actually isn’t nearly as bad as I thought it would be. Besides the design, which is pretty nice, it also doesn’t feel nearly as stiff as all the other Bodyline waist/dress bows. It still holds its shape, but it’s much more malleable. I cut off the pin from the back and put it on a headband.

New headbow

New headbow

What do you think? I think it looks pretty cute. Hopefully it won’t look as if it’s trying to float off my head when I actually do my bangs.

Let’s move on to the worn pictures of the dress.

I ordered size 4L, which is lists its measurements as “Back center of length 100cm / Bust 102-112cm / Waist 88-98cm.” My own personal measurements at this time are “Bust 112 cm/ Underbust 85 cm/ Waist 83 cm.” This is how the dress fits me.

Deflated

Deflated

With petticoat

With petticoat (Sorry for the red dot. My face was stupidly blurred.)

Back, with petticoat

Back, with petticoat (Why do my shoulders look so sloped and lopsided?!)

The elasticated straps are great. I can actually adjust it so that the bodice rests on my waist, where it’s supposed to sit. Huzzah! It fits. I have a bunch of room in the waist and a lot of room in the bust area. I can’t say where the maximum measurements on this 4L really are, but I still have room with a 112cm bust.

This dress is pretty long on me. I’m 5’3″, and most lolita skirts hit me in the middle of the knee or just above there. This dress isn’t ridiculously long-looking or anything, but it does end just past the bottom on my knees. Another common problem Bodyline has is that the skirts are on the shorter side, so they look really short on taller people, but that shouldn’t be the case with this dress. The too-short thing may just be a problem when they use printed fabric, though.

Extra room for more petticoat volume

Extra room for more petticoat volume

This dress is an absolute monster (in a good way). The skirt is super full, but it’s also very heavy because of all the ruffles. It squished my petticoat so much that it doesn’t really look like I have one on, even though I have a pretty nice everyday petticoat from Classical Puppets.

With some of Bodyline’s pieces, you have to be worried about whether they’ll be large enough for a petticoat. Some of the skirts, especially, just don’t have that much volume. I don’t think that running out of room for your petticoat will ever be a problem in this dress. In fact, you might need more petticoats just to give this dress the right shape.

L489 – black

Here are some detail shots.

Random loose blue thread

Random loose blue thread

Big, stiff, awkward bow

Big, stiff, awkward bow

Oh, Bodyline. Why do you do these sorts of things? This “matching” bow doesn’t match at all, and it is indeed the one that’s supposed to come with this dress. The bow has “pearls” on it, but there aren’t pearls anywhere on this dress. Not only that, but that lace on the bow doesn’t appear anywhere on the dress itself. Unlike the other bow, I don’t think this one is salvageable as a headbow. This one’s really stiff and somehow strangely proportioned.

Fabric bows and ruched lace

Fabric bows and ruched lace

Bodice

Bodice

Lace and pintucks on bodice

Lace and pintucks on bodice

Lace on top of bodice

Lace on top of bodice

I wish this picture wasn’t so blurry. This is legitimately the worst lace I’ve ever gotten on a piece of Bodyline clothing. It feels flat and plastic-y. It’s fairly shiny in indoor light, too, giving itself away as being crap. I’m glad that this lace is nowhere near my skin, or it’d be a nightmare to wear this dress. As it is, I’ll probably leave this lace on indefinitely as I have nothing nicer to replace it with and this bad lace is only in one isolated area.

Lace on straps

Lace on straps

Adjustable straps and elastic back

Adjustable straps and elastic back

Adjustable straps! That’s awesome! I wasn’t expecting there to be this option, even though adjustable straps are fairly crucial for “large sized” lolitas to fit into non-custom JSKs. (Tall lolitas, busty lolitas, and generally plus sized lolitas, rejoice!) This is a nice moment of attention to detail that you normally don’t get with Bodyline. I have no idea if the smaller sizes of this dress also have adjustable straps or not.

Zipper

Zipper

Boring waist tie

Boring waist tie

My cat, Matilda

At this point, my cat decided that this dress was now hers, and she settled down to sleep on it for a while. I took a break from taking pictures here, so the lighting might be weird in subsequent pictures.

Sleepy kitty

Sleepy kitty

IMG_1165

Expect to see cat hairs on things from now on.

Satin ribbon and back of bodice

Satin ribbon and back of bodice

Side ruffles

Side ruffles

Ruched lace continuing onto ruffles

Ruched lace continuing onto ruffles

Let’s move on to the worn pictures.

Again, I ordered a size 4L, which has measurements “Back center of length 102cm / Bust 100-104cm / Waist 88-92cm,” and I’ve been worried since I ordered it that it would be too tight on my bust. I figured I could always alter the dress after it got here without too much difficulty, but I really was hoping I wouldn’t have to do that. I figured the measurements were close enough that I could risk it. Anyway, my measurements at this time are “Bust 112 cm/ Underbust 85 cm/ Waist 83 cm.” This is how the dress fits me.

Deflated

Deflated

With petticoat

With petticoat

Back, with petticoat

Back, with petticoat

I have to wear the straps on the longest position, and the dress still is a bit high on my waist. Also, the problem I found with this dress is that the elastic is only in the back instead of both the front and the back like the other dress. Aesthetically, keeping the elastic just in the back is nicer, but it kind of distorts the dress. If you can’t tell from the picture, the shoulder straps are pretty far apart from one another, and they’re a too wide for my back. In the front of the dress, the straps are okay, but overall they do feel like they’re close to falling off my shoulders.

Unfortunately, this dress fit is designed for smaller people, and the 4L sizing does not help that. There are some boobloaf shenanigans happening to me in this dress (which I was expecting, since I’m larger than the max measurements listed). I’m not devastated because the bodice is long enough that that dress does not end up a sort of empire waist. I can try to see if this gets better with a sports bra, but the dress is cut for a smaller cup size. I might have to adjust the princess seams after all, which is a pain. Also, while my waist is technically smaller than the minimum measurements on this dress, you can see that the dress looks too tight on me. There is more give left in the elastic, too, but it sure doesn’t look it. I’m probably going to wear my corset underneath this dress just to stop the silly muffin-top effect that happens in this dress.

Even though I still technically have some room, I definitely would not recommend this dress for anyone who has a larger bust or waist than me. It might fit, but it probably won’t look right.

Extra room for more petticoat volume

Extra room for more petticoat volume

This dress is much less voluminous than the other one, but it still has a ton of room for a bigger petticoat. I actually like this dress’s volume levels a lot more than the other dress’s because it’s just easier to manage. The side ruffles also do a nice job of making this dress look even fluffier than just a petticoat would.

Blouses

L474 – black, offwhite

I’m a sucker for blouses that I can wear outside my skirts, but I wasn’t sure how I felt about the way this one looked when I bought it. (I also think that the weird outfit they put the model in doesn’t help.) Anyway, I have been in desperate need of blouses and tops for a long time, and this blouse has long sleeves, a decorative yoke region that looked like it would be big enough to not sit weirdly/too high on my bust, and what I assumed was a removable jabot, which I’ve also wanted. I took a risk and bought it in two colorways without knowing how it would fit first.

Here are the detail shots. Since these are the same blouse, I picked the pictures that turned out the best without worrying about which colored blouse I used.

IMG_1178

IMG_1192

Matilda being mischievous again

IMG_1179

Under this blouse, at least, the collar hides the metal rings on the jabot, so you can wear the jabot without the cameo.

IMG_1194

Lace on jabot

IMG_1181

This cameo is so much nicer than the default Bodyline cameo you get on most things.

IMG_1182

It also has a pin in the back so you can wear it separately.

IMG_1183

Connection method

IMG_1184

Yoke details, black

IMG_1195

Yoke details, offwhite

Bodyline used the same wide lace for both blouses, but the black wide lace looks a little shrunken or scrunched in general compared to the offwhite lace. You can’t tell from the pictures, but the offwhite flower lace is almost the same as the black flower lace, except the offwhite flowers are ever so slightly larger and more spread out than on the black lace. I thought that was an amusing difference. They are identical in every other way, though, so good on Bodyline for trying to keep the lace consistent between colors.

IMG_1185

Collar lace

IMG_1201

The collar lace on the offwhite blouse came stained.

This is fairly annoying. I really edited this picture so you could see the mark, so it isn’t that dark in real life. I could see the stain as I was taking pictures of the blouse, but barely. Since this section of lace is in the back of the collar, the stain shouldn’t be noticeable when worn. Ugh.

IMG_1197

Sleeve cuff

IMG_1198

Blouse construction

IMG_1187

Spare button (There one that came with each shirt.)

Anyway, I bought a 4L, which has “Length 82cm / Bust 108cm / Waist 94cm / Shoulder length 40cm / Sleeve length 64cm.” My measurements are “Bust 112 cm/ Underbust 85 cm/ Waist 83 cm/ Shoulder length ~40 cm (it’s hard to measure)/ Sleeve length 54.” This is how they both fit. (I wore a black bra to try and show off any transparency problems you might have while wearing the white one.)

IMG_1265 IMG_1274
IMG_1266 IMG_1275
IMG_1267 IMG_1276
IMG_1255 IMG_1277
IMG_1264 IMG_1280
IMG_1262 IMG_1282

Sorry for all the red dots. My face turned out either really blurry or just really weird in all of these pictures.

So, there is obviously some button gaping, and the sleeves look a little too long, but the overall fit isn’t too bad on me. The blouse still closes just fine over my bust, and this level of gaping is nothing that a couple hidden buttons (or some safety pins) can’t fix. I probably won’t do anything about the sleeve length because I prefer my sleeves to be too long. (I’m weird, I guess.) I personally don’t ever plan to wear this blouse tucked into a regular skirt (see weird muffin effect above), but I wanted to show you what that would look like.

Also, the listed measurements on this blouse are definitely lies. I think that the bust measurement is pretty accurate, although on principle, you should probably expect some button gaping if your bust is over 100 cm. The blouse still closes just fine on my 112 cm bust, and it doesn’t squeeze anything weirdly. However, this blouse will NOT fit a 95 cm waist. You can see in my pictures how this blouse fits my 83 cm waist. Honestly, depending on whether this blouse is tucked in, it looks correctly sized or too tight. My current waist measurement is the maximum that I would feel comfortable wearing this blouse. Also, I don’t think that the sleeve length would sit well on someone with a sleeve length of 10 cm more than mine, but I can’t say for sure.

Overall, though this blouse fits me pretty well, and I really love the buttcape part. It looks a lot nicer than I expected it to, and the shirt just looks really nice in general when it’s not tucked in. I wish this came in more colors so I could order different ones. The beige one looks weird, and I don’t like that color, but I might pick up that blue one in a future Bodyline order for a Moite-inspired look.

Besides lolita, I could really see this blouse working with an ouji or aristocrat look. It’s a shame that the real measurements are just so much smaller than the listed ones.

* * *

Thanks for sticking with me through this big review.

There were some issues with this order, and I’m annoyed mainly that the shoes were in such bad surface condition. The stained blouse lace I can forgive, but the shoes’ condition bothers me. Were all shoes that people bought during this sale just rejects that couldn’t be sold in stores? (Note: that is pure speculation on my part. I don’t have any evidence for/against it.) Still, I got a lot for my money ($152.17), and I’m pretty happy with my order overall. There wasn’t anything wrong that I can’t just fix, everything fit, and I was able to get some good wardrobe basics.

UPDATE: If you liked this review, be sure to check out another recent Bodyline review I did here. If you’re curious about Bodyline’s wigs, I also did a review here.

Stay oldschool,

Raven

6 thoughts on “Review: Bodyline Haul

  1. Hi!
    I really like how in depth your reviews go, but I do have a tiny question if you don’t mind me asking 🙂 I’m considering buying the same RHS and am usually the same size as you (225). Do ou, after wearing the for a while, thinki you chose the correct size or would you reccomend I buy them bigger/smaller? Sorry for bothering you!

    • Hello!
      You’re not bothering me at all; I’m happy to help. I think I definitely ordered the right size for me. Size 230 feels pretty good all around. I don’t notice any tight spots, but the shoes are still snug against my foot, and they’re not in danger of slipping off. If I were to order another pair of these, I’d definitely stick with ordering size 230.
      Hope this helps!

      • Thank you so much for your detailed answer 😉 I was a bit afraid to order these as there are so many miced reviews about sizing an none had my shoe size, so I’m really glad I stumbled upon your review, and your kindness. Thank you again 🙂

Leave a Reply

