New Year’s Lolita Resolutions

Hello, readers,

Happy New Year! So, two years ago I made a post on my tumblr about 10 goals I had for developing a more refined/anachronistic/lolita lifestyle. Looking back, I’d say I was pretty successful.

  1. Improve my posture
  2. Read more
  3. Write my stories in longhand or with a typewriter
  4. Practice playing a musical instrument every day
  5. Improve my drawing/painting skills
  6. Eat less processed foods
  7. Better my chess game
  8. Stop depriving myself of sleep
  9. Study etiquette
  10. Spend more time being with people in-person, without distractions

I didn’t study etiquette, but I took a ballroom dancing class at my university, which works towards the same kind of idea. I never practice playing musical instruments, and I haven’t for a long time, which makes me sad to think about. Lastly, I’m still really bad at chess. All in all, I think the changes I made were definitely for the better, and I’m a lot happier with my life now than I was back then.

* * *

Without further ado, here is a new list of goals I’m setting for myself as I work towards having a happy, healthy, lolita lifestyle.

  1. Sew/craft more often and finish works in progress
  2. Better my chess game (I mean it this time.)
  3. Dance as often as I can
  4. Read more Victorian literature and poetry (I am actively trying to go to graduate school to work on a Ph.D. in Victorian lit.)
  5. Wear lolita more often, at least once or twice a week
  6. Work on making my non-lolita wardrobe more lolita- and/or gothic-inspired
  7. Regularly make artist books and get better at bookmaking in general
  8. Work on my writing, finish my novel, get published
  9. Continue learning Japanese
  10. Love the people in my life with all my heart

Readers, do you have any lolita-specific goals or resolutions for the new year? Please share them in the comments below. I’d love to hear them.

Stay motivated,

Raven

Leave a Reply

