Photo Diary: A Day in the Life of a Lolita (Old Lolita Blog Carnival Post)

Hello, readers,

Welcome to my photo diary! I’ve wanted to do this sort of post for a while, but all I really do nowadays is stay in and do homework. Yesterday (November 21), though, I went to go see A Midsummer Night’s Dream performed at my university! Whoo!

08:20 – I tried to get up early, but the room was so cold and my bed was so warm…

IMG_20151121_085246236

Plus, there was a little kitty sleeping next to me that I didn’t want to disturb.

09:20 – I actually managed to get up. There was still a sleeping kitty next to me.

IMG_20151121_094008894

Precious sweetheart

I wanted to get a shower now so my hair could dry on time, but the roommates were busy in the bathroom getting ready for work. I’d been thwarted!

P1070092

Mismatching sheets galore! Spoiler: I don’t ever make my bed today.

I decided to do some laundry while I waited for the shower. The pile on the left is dirty clothes that need to be washed, but the pile on the right is clean clothes that I didn’t get around to putting away last week. Whoops.

10:50 – I got out of the shower, two hours later than I had originally planned. At this point, I just was hoping my hair would dry on time.

P1070093

I had a lovely (if not particularly pretty) breakfast of apple cider and some leftovers while I waited for the washing machine to finish its cycle.

11:20 – I switched over the laundry and started thinking of my coord for later.

P1070097

I decided to be fairly casual, mainly because I really wanted to wear this skirt out. I redid the skirt over the summer, but I hadn’t gotten a chance to wear it out yet. Here’s how the skirt looked before:

Can you tell yet that I’m a fan of turtleneck sweaters? After this, I just poked around the internet for a while. I really didn’t want to squeeze in any homework.

12:00 – I started getting ready now. Clothes, makeup, and hair.

P1070111

Obligatory bathroom shot

Most of my hair dried really frizzy from the start. Ah, well. There was nothing I could do.

13:00 – I left my house and started walking towards campus. The trip takes a little less than half an hour, and the play started at 14:00, but I met up with my boyfriend for his lunch break from work.

P1070120a

I swear, I’m quite happy! I’m not sure why I look so stern here, but this was the best shot of my outfit.

We were pretty cute together, and we just chatted for a bit as we took a walk together. He took this photo of me after we found a nice-looking spot.

13:45~14:00 – I was the first one of the group to arrive at the theatre, so I grabbed our tickets from the box office and waited for everyone to arrive.

P1070134

A Midsummer Night’s Dream! Yay!

I really liked the performance. They did a couple of interesting character splices (having two actresses play Puck simultaneously, giving some of Oberon’s lines to his attendant), and all the actors did a good job. There were a lot of dance scenes in this production, and lots of live music on stage. The Mechanicals were wonderful, and Bottom/Pyramus over-theatrically died about six or seven times (including death by stabbing, death by poison, death by lobster pinches, and death by fork-in-toaster) before he finally collapsed.

16:30 – The play being done, our professor took us out to dinner across the street.

P1070133

I had a pizza with fig jam, goat cheese, and arugula. (I forgot to take a picture, but it mostly looked like a boring salad on some pizza dough.)

17:30~18:00 – I had a normal, uneventful walk home.

P1070138

When I got home, I went and finished folding and putting away all the laundry that I’d started earlier.

P1070151

My boyfriend was a sweetheart and brought me up some warm apple cider. Oh, how I love fall!

18:40 – After I finished with laundry, I settled down on the couch for an evening of doing nothing.

P1070169

My boyfriend and I watched some Youtube together. Pictured here is a moment from a Pokemon battle on shadypenguinn’s channel.

P1070171

That saggy sock drives me nuts!

A doll outfit I ordered came in the mail, so I tried it on one of my Pullip dolls. (I’ll put up a blog post about my two dolls once I customize them. Until then, here’s a sneak peak of Ruby.)

P20151122_013340

I read Two Noble Kinsmen, as if I hadn’t had enough Shakespeare for one day already.

22:30 – We ordered Chinese take-out for dinner as a house. The four of us don’t really hang out as a “family” very much anymore.

P1070178 P1070180

I got some General Tso’s chicken and strawberry mochi ice cream. I obviously had to eat the mochi first since it was already a little melty from the delivery.

P1070186

We also watched Tim Burton’s Sleepy Hollow. This was my second time seeing it, and I still would recommend it to anyone who likes a spooky, “old-timey” aesthetic.

00:00 – And that was my day. I went to bed fairly shortly after the movie ended. I hope you enjoyed this little photo diary.

P1070166

Stay dreaming,

Raven

Here are the blogs that responded to the original prompt in 2012. Definitely check them out.

Redtonic Melting Mind of LizJuiceDarkly Darling

Teh Pastel UnicornParasol ObsessionA Lace Jail

Sparkling GirlFashion Fairytales & Sewing Secrets

Leave a Reply

