Sugar, Spice, and Everything Nice: Chocolate Chili Enchiladas

Hello, readers,

Today, we’re making a main dish! Be excited!

Part of my unending struggle to infuse “lolita” into my everyday lifestyle is that I have trouble thinking of lolita-esque food (hence, this series). I could just make everything into cute shapes, but the idea of bat-shaped pork chops is super unappealing to me. So how do you take lolita food, which is often very sweet, and make it into a main course? Today, that answer is to use chocolate.

Specifically, we’re using Mexican chocolate.

This stuff makes the best hot chocolate, but you need to make a big pot of it on the stove to get the proportions right. It’s so worth it, though, especially because of the little kick of spice it has.

According to the original recipe poster, you can use bitter chocolate and a pinch of cinnamon if you can’t get Mexican chocolate.

Chocolate Chili Enchiladas – The KitchenAid Blog

I changed up this recipe quite a lot, and I will make more adjustments when I make this again. For some people, this is going to be a recipe that requires a lot of specialty ingredients. For me, it wasn’t because I already had some Mexican chocolate in my pantry, and tortillas and hot peppers are things we get all the time.

Enchilada Sauce Ingredients

  • 1 poblano chili pepper
  • 1 serano chili pepper
  • 1 Tablespoon butter
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3.5 cups chicken stock
  • 5 Tablespoons creamy peanut butter (I will definitely use less next time.)
  • 1 Tablespoon honey
  • 3 ounces chopped Mexican chocolate

Filling Ingredients

  • 8 – 10 flour tortillas
  • 36 ounces cooked shredded chicken (I already had this.)
  • 14 ounces shredded cheese (I used “Mexican blend.”)
  • 2 teaspoons dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • Salt and black pepper to taste
  • Hot sauce of choice to adjust spice level (Optional. I didn’t use any.)

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. (You’ll also want to shred the chicken ahead of time.)
  2. Chop up the chili peppers, onion, and garlic. Chop up the chocolate separately.
  3. Add the butter, onion and garlic to a pot over medium heat. Sauté for 2-3 minutes then add the peppers.
  4. Sauté another minute or so and add chicken stock, peanut butter, and honey. Simmer for 10-15 minutes.
  5. Take the pot off the heat and stir in the chopped chocolate. Keep stirring as the chocolate melts and dissolves.
  6. Now place the shredded chicken in a large bowl and add 1 cup of the enchilada sauce you made along with half of the cheese. Add the seasonings and stir, adjusting the seasonings and hot sauce amounts to taste.
  7. Make sure your tortillas are soft and malleable. If they’re not, a quick five seconds in the microwave should do the trick.
  8. One at a time, spoon approximately 1/8th to 1/10th of your total original filling on the tortilla. Do it in a straight line down the center of the tortilla to make the rolling process less messy.
  9. Roll the tortillas into tubes and place in a rimmed baking dish.
  10. Pour the remaining sauce over the tortillas in the baking dish. We had a lot of sauce, and that’s fine. I like it when the tortillas soak up all the sauce flavor.
  11. Top the tortillas in the baking dish with the remaining cheese and bake for 15-20 minutes until warmed through. (Just as a last reminder, do not use uncooked chicken in these enchiladas.)

There you have it: a savory main dish that uses chocolate. With enough dishes like this in your recipe box, it may just be possible to live off nothing but sweets after all.

My boyfriend really liked these as they turned out, but I thought they were a bit too nutty/earthy. I think that’s the large amount of peanut butter we used. My boyfriend and I made this dish together, and he just loves to add lots of whatever the recipes call for: garlic, onion, heaping spoonfuls peanut butter, etc. The original recipe wanted three tablespoons of peanut butter, and we must have had five or six by the end. I still liked the taste of these enchiladas overall, but I wouldn’t go so heavy-handed on the peanut butter.

Let me know how this recipe turns out for you if you make it!

Stay spicy,

Raven
The original recipe calls the sauce a “cheater mole.” I prefer to call it what it is, a chocolate chili sauce. If you like this recipe and want more ways to cook main dishes with chocolate, a general “chocolate mole recipe ideas” Google search should turn up a large variety of recipes.

Leave a Reply

