Dollhouse Diaries: Reveal

Hello, readers,

I hope you had fun reading through my blog as I assembled and painted my very first dollhouse. I’ll confess, I definitely caught the miniature bug. I’ve already begun looking for the next house I want to build, but I probably won’t buy anything new until I move into a new place.

My three roommates also enjoyed watching me put this little house together, even though I completely overtook the coffee table and couch for two weeks. My dollhouse building may have infected them as well. One of my roommates for sure is going to buy her own dollhouse kit once she finds one that’s tiny enough, and my boyfriend’s thinking about getting a model kit of some kind.

Without further ado, let me introduce you to my “finished” little house.

Day 13

There is a woman who lives alone in a little house on 13th Street. Her neighbors sometimes hear faint strains of piano music or singing coming from her house. She has a lovely voice.

No one ever sees anyone besides this woman go in or out of the house, but passersby often swear that they hear voices within, talking and laughing. Sometimes, if you’re looking, you can see shadows moving in the upstairs window while the woman is out shopping for groceries. Sometimes the rocking chair on her porch starts to move on its own. That’s not unusual, surely it’s the wind moving the chair. The whistling is the wind, too. Even the sound of foot-tapping must just be your own footsteps echoing back. Still, you can’t quite explain why the woman acts like she’s holding the door open for someone, even though there’s no one there.

And she has such a pretty voice whenever she wishes you a “Good evening.” You can almost forget that you clearly hear someone playing the piano the next room over as she closes and locks the front door.

Let’s take a look at this woman’s little house on 13th Street, shall we?

Here’s her bedroom.

And here’s a better look at her bookshelf.

P1070531 P1070533

She has Jane Eyre, Wuthering Heights, Crime and Punishment, Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, The Scarlet Letter, Dracula, Frankenstein, The Picture of Dorian Gray, Through the Looking-Glass, and three copies of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, plus a few sketchbooks, journals, and photo albums.

(As you can probably tell from the photos above, these little books do not have pages. Their covers are 1 cm tall!)

P1070526

Here is the mysterious woman’s ordinary bathroom.

This is her living room, which has more than enough seating for someone who supposedly lives alone and never has visitors.

Lastly, here’s her little music room. Though her neighbors don’t know this, she spends more of her time sitting in the chair against the wall, listening or singing along as others play the piano, rather than sitting on the piano bench.

Hopefully some of you were able to tell from the pictures above, but the two types of lace I used for the bed skirt and the area rug in the conservatory are taken off of a Bodyline dress. This makes the dollhouse a little bit lolita. It also makes it match some of my wardrobe. I’m absurdly happy about this.

Here are some photos of how I have it set up in my room.

P1070588

You can also see some of my books in this photo, along with some of my boyfriend’s books.

I would like to get a lazy Susan to display the house on, but I’d rather hold off on that until after I decide if I want to add some landscaping or not.

Here are some more pictures of the 13th Street house, just because I’m so proud of it and I love how it turned out.

P1070591
P1070594

P1070596

I like to picture this house being on a hill, so that it can look a little imposing, despite its small size.

Obviously, I didn’t add any interior trim. I was unable to find a replacement in time to do anything during the break, and my semester starts tomorrow. I also want to make a little mattress and a blanket for the bed, make some cushions for the seating in the living room, and upholster the two chairs in the conservatory. After that, I probably want to print out and assemble more books to put around the house.

The only thing I’m still debating is whether or not to dress up the cut-away wall.

(Thanks go to my boyfriend for holding up the lace against the house.) While I know the lace against the floor/ceiling divide looks a little weird, I also think it looks darling. I’m just not sure if I should commit to the look and glue it on or not. I may have to ignore the problem for a while and decide when I go back in to add baseboards and crown molding, whenever that may be.

Stay spooky,

Raven

If you missed any part of the construction, you can read all about it by following the links below.

Day 0 and Day 1Day 2Day 3

Day 4Day 5

Day 6Day 7Day 8 and Day 9

Day 10Day 11 and 12

4 thoughts on “Dollhouse Diaries: Reveal

  1. Oh my goodness!! That little bookshelf!!! Your house turned out AMAZING! Looking at these pieces I would have never been able to imagine it all coming together this way, but it all looks so polished and adorable! Wow, your house turned out so gorgeous, and I love that it has it’s own little story to tie everything together. Just beautiful. You did a fantastic job!

  2. It looks superb! I love your use of the color scheme throughout and the sweet yet spooky story that goes with the house. It is quite a statement piece, and I like how you brought part of yourself (the dress lace) into the home. I look forward to seeing future projects :-).

    • Thank you so much! I’m looking forward to starting my next project, but I don’t know when that will happen. Who knew you’d need lots of space to work with miniatures?

Leave a Reply

