Sugar, Spice, and Everything Nice: Sweet-and-Sour Cucumber Salad

Hello, readers,

I’m excited for today’s recipe, which is a basic cucumber salad. I love cucumbers. They’re so refreshing and tasty, and I’ve never understood why anyone would want to ruin that by pickling them.
Cucumbers hold a special place in my heart for their prominence in the afternoon tea that lolitas so often enjoy. If you want to feature cucumbers as a snack or appetizer for a get-together, it might be worth it to dress them up a little so they don’t feel so plain next to the macarons.
I think the easiest way to make cucumbers a little more cute is to use cookie cutters.

I think I got fairly decent results for just using the cookie cutters I had. All of my cookie cutters were far too big for the cucumber I bought. Depending on what varieties of cucumber you have access to (or if you can get very small cookie cutters), you might have an easier time making shapes. Madiganmade (there’s a recipe for cucumber and radish appetizers on that blog, too) was able to get adorable flower shapes using a little cookie cutter, for example.

If you don’t have cookie cutters, you can always make cut and shape the cucumber slices with a knife.

I used these shaped cucumber slices for the recipe below. You could also use these cute-shaped cucumbers in whatever your favorite cucumber sandwich recipe is.

Sweet-and-Sour Cucumbers – Epicurious, via Popsugar

Here’s the recipe with my modifications:

Ingredients

  • 2 cucumbers, sliced thinly and cut into shapes
  • 1 Tablespoon salt
  • 1/2 cup distilled white vinegar
  • (1 Tablespoon and 1 teaspoon) dried dill
  • 3 Tablespoons sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Instructions

  1. Pat cucumber slices dry with paper towel.
  2. For dressing, stir vinegar, dill, sugar, salt, and pepper in large bowl until sugar is dissolved.
  3. Add cucumbers to dressing and toss/stir to blend.
  4. Refrigerate at least 15 minutes and up to 2 hours; serve cold.

I wasn’t sure if I had enough dressing for the cucumbers. About half of my slices were submerged when I stopped stirring/tossing, which meant that only half my slices had a chance to absorb the flavors. I tried to remedy this by pouring the dressing into the serving dishes as well, but I feel like that made the salad’s taste much stronger than intended. I still liked the overall result, though.

When I make this again, I’ll try and follow the original recipe’s instruction to slice the cucumbers thinly. I was pretty lazy when making slices, so they turned out much thicker than they could have. I would also like to use fresh dill, but I don’t feel like I can ever use fresh herbs quickly enough before they go to waste.

As always, let me know how this recipe turns out for you if you make it!

Stay bright,

Raven

If you dislike cucumbers or are allergic to them, then this obviously wasn’t the post for you. Sorry! In that case, I hope that you’ll like my next post more.

Leave a Reply

